DECISION-MAKER:	COUNCIL
SUBJECT:	CITY COUNCIL ELECTIONS 2011
DATE OF DECISION:	16 MAY 2011

**REPORT OF:** RETURNING OFFICER

AUTHOR:	Name:	Kath Richards	Tel:	023 8083 3954	
	E-mail:	Kath.richards@southampton.gov.uk			

## Elections in the 16 City Wards were held on Thursday 5th May 2011 the following candidates were elected.

BARGATE - John Noon (Labour)

BASSETT - Les Harris (Conservative)

BEVOIS- Jacqui Rayment (Labour)

BITTERNE- Matt Stevens (Labour)

BITTERNE PARK - Peter Baillie (Conservative)

COXFORD- Don Thomas (Labour)

FREEMANTLE - Brian Parnell (Conservative)

HAREFIELD- Daniel Fitzhenry (Conservative)

MILLBROOK- Asa Thorpe (Labour)

PEARTREE - Darren Paffey (Labour)

PORTSWOOD - Matthew Claisse (Conservative)

REDBRIDGE - Andrew Pope (Labour)

SHIRLEY- Satvir Kaur (Labour)

SHOLING - Susan Blatchford (Labour)

SWAYTHLING - Spiros Vassiliou (Conservative)

WOOLSTON - Warwick Payne (Labour)

## The overall turnout was 36.68%

This election was also combined with the Referendum on the Alternative Vote and the results for this were :

Yes 823,793

No 1,951,793

The overall turnout was 44.31%

Mark Heath Returning Officer